267 reads

Election Commission Announces Poll Dates in Five States


Election Commission of India has announced ‘code of conduct’ in Rajasthan along with four other states, including Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh. Voters of the following states will get ‘None of the above’ (NOTA) to reject candidates in the upcoming polls.

Rajasthan has around 200 seats in state assembly and polling on which would be held on 1st December. In 200 seats of state assembly Udaipur shares 9 seats including Udaipur City, Udaipur Rural, Gogunda, Jhadol, Vallabhnagar, Kherwada, Kotda, Salumber and Mavli. Tenure of 2008 assembly is ending on 31st December.

Even after announcement of ‘Code of Conduct’ none of the parties has officially declared their candidates. Although speculators believes that BJP will put forward Gulab Chand Kataria from Udaipur, whereas Congress is likely to promote Neelima Sukhadia while Dr. Girija Vyas being senior most member of party may also get a chance.

According to the population data of 2001, Udaipur Constituency has nearly 23 lac ST/SC voters, which includes more than 3 lac voters from Salumber and Jhadol.

Sources say that tapping these ST/SC votes can become a turning point for any of the parties in Udaipur. Congress is using various schemes to buy favour from this vote bank whereas BJP is organising mass meeting in these areas.

2 years ago

J&K students demand for securi...

1 month ago

433 reads

Leave a Comment