1,565 reads

Mother-Daughter Swimming duo awarded "Gr8! Women Award 2012"


Udaipur swimmers Bhakti Sharma and her mother Leena Sharma have been awarded Gr8! Women of the Year in recently held The Kelvinator Gr8! Women’s Award 2012 function held on 15th February at Andheri, Mumbai.

Both Bhakti,( 21) and Leena,( 48) were awarded under sports category for their extra ordinary talents and achievements in the sports of swimming.


The award was organized by Gr8! TV Magazine of Indian Television Academy. Several prominent women personalities of the country including Shamshad Begum, Tabassum Govil, Juhi Chawla, Vidya Balan, Salma Sultan, Ekta Kapoor etc. were also been awarded for their achievements in various fields.

Bhakti Sharma and Leena Sharma has made several records in swimming, the most important of all includes crossing English Channel in the year 2008 as the world’s first mother and daughter to cross the English Channel swim relay, National award for swimming 72kms in the Arabian Sea in the year 2008 and crossing English Channel with Priyanka Gehlot from Jodhpur, all three women swimmers were from Rajasthan.

Bhakti is also the youngest swimmers in the world to swim across 7 seas including 4 oceans.

Overjoyed with the honor, Leena has told UT that she has dedicated the award to her husband Chandra Shekhar Sharma.


The illustrious function was held at Bhawan’s Cultural Ground, Andheri Mumbai. Anu and Shashi Ranjan, publisher of Gr8! TV Magazine awarded Leena and Bhakti.

From the team of UT (UdaipurTimes.com) and every Udaipurites, we wish both Leena and Bhakti Sharma a heartily congratulations and thanks for making us all proud.

Keep Going Leena and Bhakti!!

Additional UPDATE 22/2/2012 : The award function will telecast on SONY TV on 4th March at 5PM (IST)

3 years ago

LIC conducts ‘Student of the ...

2 days ago

189 reads

Hero of Rajasthan: Imran Khan wants...

2 weeks ago

2,488 reads


  1. Ali says

    Gr88 News…..All the very Best to Duo’s for future too…………..
    Zaheer Bhai any television coverage for this Award function and when it will be telecast?


Leave a Comment