Moinuddin and the District Collectors of Udaipur - 47 Collectors in 74 years

Moinuddin and the District Collectors of Udaipur - 47 Collectors in 74 years

History of Collectors of Udaipur, Who Was the First Collector of Udaipur, First Collector of Udaipur, Administrative History of Udaipur, Udaipur News, Udaipur Times

The first District Collector of Udaipur (Rajasthan was then known Rajputana) was Shri Moinuddin, who took office in the year 1948, before the state of Rajasthan was formally instituted on 30 March 1949. Rajasthan was given its name when the British state of Rajputana was merged into the Dominion of India. Subsequently, Udaipur has welcomed 46 administrative heads to the post of Collector and District Magistrate. The following is the list of all the District Collectors of Udaipur since Independence and formation of state of Rajasthan.

Moinuddin (Year: 1948); Mohan Lal Agarwal (Year: 1949); BN Tankha (Year: 1949); Khem Chand (Year: 1951); KR Himmat Singh (Year: 1952); Raj Kumar (Year: 1953); RN Hawa (Year: 1954); Shiv Shanker (Year: 1955); GBK Hooja (Year: 1958); PKB Kurup (Year: 1960); CL Kochar (Year: 1963); MS Sadasivan (Year: 1964); BC Mukerji (Year: 1965); KK Joshi (Year: 1966); RR Jain (Year: 1967); Vinaya Vyas (Year: 1971); Govind Ji Misra (Year: 1973); PN Bhandari (Year: 1974); Dr Adarsh Kishore (Year: 1976); BS Minhas (Year: 1979); JP Singh (Year: 1980); Dharam Veer (Year: 1983); PK Deb (Year: 1985); PC Jain (Year: 1987); Atul Kumar Garg (Year: 1988); Dr. VS Singh (Year: 1989); Rama Kant Vyas (Year: 1990); Ratan Singh Singhi (Year: 1990); Rakesh Srivastava (Year: 1992); Vipin Chandra Sharma (Year: 1993); Ashok Singhvi (Year: 1995); Shreemat Pandey (Year: 1997); Prem Singh Mehra (Year: 1999); Vinod Kapoor (Year: 2001); Abhay Kumar (Year: 2002); Shikhar Agarwal (Year: 2005); Alok (Year: 2007); Kuldeep Ranka (Year: 2008); Anand Kumar (Year: 2008); Hemant Kumar Gera (Year: 2010); Vikas Sitaram Bhale (Year: 2012); Ashutosh Pednekar (Year: 2013); Rohit Gupta (Year: 2015); Bishnu Charan Mallick (Year: 2017); Ms Anandhi (Year: 2018); Chetan Ram Deora (Year: 2020); Tara Chand Meena (Year: 2022).

In the last 74 years, Dr. VS Singh who took office on 18 October 1989 has served for the shortest period of 72 days, while RR Jain, who took office of Collector on 21 October 1967, served for the longest tenure of 1,173 days. His last day in office was 6 January 1971.

Ms Anandi, who became Collector and District Magistrate of Udaipur on 25 December 2018 and was in office till 4 July 2020 is the only female Collector of Udaipur in the last 74 years.

Udaipur has been served by 2 Collectors in one calendar year thrice in the last 74 years. Mohanlal Agarwal and BN Tankha took office as Collectors of Udaipur in 1949; Rama Kant Vyas and Ratan Singhi took office as Collectors of Udaipur in 1990 and Kuldeep Ranka and Anand Kumar took office as Collectors in 2008.

Among the last 25 Collectors of Udaipur, seven administrative heads of Udaipur, viz. Kuldeep Ranka, JP Singh, Vipin Sharma, Dr. Ashok Singhvi, Vinod Kapoor, Chetan Deora and Tara Chand Meena have been from the Rajasthan cadre. All of them have held the dual role of Collector and District Magistrate.

As per the Civil Services regulations, the "insider-outsider ratio" (ratio of officers who are posted in their home states) is maintained as 1:2. as 'insiders'. The rest are posted outsiders according to the 'roster' in states other than their home states. Till 2008 there was no choice for any state cadre and the candidates, if not placed in the insider vacancy of their home states, were allotted to different states in alphabetic order of the roster, beginning with the letters A,H,M,T for that particular year. For example if in a particular year the roster begins from 'A', which means the first candidate in the roster will go to the Andhra Pradesh state cadre of IAS, the next one to Bihar, and subsequently to Chhattisgarh, Gujarat and so on in alphabetical order.  The next year the roster starts from 'H', for either Haryana or Himachal Pradesh.( if it has started from Haryana in the previous occasion when it all started from 'H', then this time it would start from Himachal Pradesh). This highly intricate system has on one hand ensured that officers from different states are placed all over India. The only way the allotted state cadre can be changed is by marriage to an officer of another state cadre of IAS/IPS/IFS. One can even go to his home state cadre on deputation for a limited period, after which one has to invariably return to the cadre allotted to him or her.

What is the role of a District Collector vs a District Magistrate

The post of District Collector, who is also the District Magistrate, is the chief and key person in the district administration. This post was created in 1772 in Bengal by Warren Hastings and Ralph Sheldon is considered the first District Collector of India.

The District Collector is the highest Officer of Revenue administration in the district. A district magistrate, often abbreviated to DM, is an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer who is the senior-most executive magistrate and chief in charge of the general administration of a district in India.

A District Magistrate, is an officer who is in-charge of a district, the basic unit of administration, in India. They are also known as District Collector or Deputy Commissioner in several Indian states. In general parlance, they are referred to by the abbreviation DM or DC.

To join us on Facebook Click Here and Subscribe to UdaipurTimes Broadcast channels on   GoogleNews |  Telegram |  Signal