Narayan Seva Sansthan: UP takes home the Wheelchair Cricket Championship 2022 trophy

Narayan Seva Sansthan: UP takes home the Wheelchair Cricket Championship 2022 trophy

National Wheelchair Cricket Championship - 2022

third wheel

The third edition of the National Wheelchair Cricket Championship ended on December 3, 2022, in the city of lakes Udaipur. In this seven-day event, organized by Narayan Seva Sansthan, DCCI, WCI and Rajasthan Royals, Uttar Pradesh defeated Haryana and took home the championship trophy. 

Narayan Seva Sansthan President Prashant Agarwal said that the world's largest Wheelchair Cricket Tournament was recorded in the Guinness Book of World Records for the first time. In this regard, Guinness Book representative Swapnil presented the certificate of world record to Narayan Seva Sansthan. Haryana was the runner up at this tournament and defending champions Punjab were eliminated this time at the league level itself. 

The winning Uttar Pradesh squad in the competition received a cash reward of Rs. 2.50 lakh. Haryana's runner-up team received Rs. 1.50 lakh. Olympian and Arjuna Awardee Dhulchand Damor; District Collector Tarachand Meena; Tikamchand Bohra, CEO of Rajasthan State Heritage Conservation and Promotion Authority; WCI President Squadron Leader Abhay Pratap Singh and DCCI Secretary presented the trophy to the the winning UP team at the closing ceremony of the championship on World Disability Day.

The grand finale was played between Haryana and UP at RCA ground in the presence of hundreds of cricket lovers. UP won the toss and invited Haryana to bat first. Three important batsmen of the Haryana team returned to the pavilion in the very first over. The team lost the first wicket on the first ball, the second on the fourth ball and the last ball of the third over. Due to this the team came under pressure, due to the quick fall of wickets, the Uttar Pradesh team beat Haryana in 14 overs. Haryana could score only 85 runs. Taking the spirit of victory, the UP team, led by captain Somjit Singh, captured the championship trophy in 6.2 overs without losing a wicket. All-rounder Shailesh Yadav from Uttar Pradesh bowled 3 wickets for 7 runs in 2 overs and scored a brilliant 36 off 20 balls. Shailesh Yadav was awarded the title of Man of the Match. Opener Anmol Vashisht also contributed with 45 runs. 

Monu Master of Haryana was adjudged the best bowler; Gaurav Yadav of Uttar Pradesh was declared the best fielder and Shailesh Yadav, again from UP was chosen Man of the Series. The award for the most disciplined team went to Karnataka. President of Narayan Seva Sansthan, Prashant Aggarwal expressed happiness over making a world record of third National Wheelchair Championship and said that the institute will make continuous efforts to promote National Para Games through its Sports Academy.

Ravi Chauhan, Abhijeet Singh of Rajasthan Royals, Member of Rajasthan Tribal Commission Pannalal Meena, Rajasthan Heritage Conservation Authority Director Manohar Lal Gupta, District Swimming Association President Chandragupt Singh Chauhan, District Sports Officer Shakeel Hussain and International Cricket Umpire Mohd. Rafiq were present. In the beginning, Padmashree Kailash Manav, the founder of the institute, while welcoming the guests, informed about the 38-year service journey of education, treatment and rehabilitation of the disabled.

To join us on Facebook Click Here and Subscribe to UdaipurTimes Broadcast channels on   GoogleNews |  Telegram |  Signal