Schedule for ICC 2023 ODI World Cup Unveiled

Schedule for ICC 2023 ODI World Cup Unveiled 

India's provisional schedule...

ICC 2023 ODI World Cup

As the eagerly awaited ICC World Cup 2023 approaches, it promises to be the grandest and most highly anticipated competition of the year. This upcoming edition holds special significance as it will be India's inaugural experience hosting the tournament independently. Unlike previous editions, where India co-hosted the competition with Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 is set to be a landmark event as India takes on the sole responsibility of hosting the entire tournament. 

India has had the privilege of co-hosting the prestigious World Cup on three occasions in the past. The first co-hosting opportunity came in 1987, followed by successful collaborations in 1996 and 2011. The tournament itself has a rich history, spanning 12 editions since its inaugural event in 1975, which took place in England. The upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 will mark another significant milestone in India's cricketing legacy.

The reigning champions of the World Cup are England, who secured their first-ever title in 2019. Australia, on the other hand, hold the remarkable record for the most World Cup victories, having emerged victorious on five remarkable occasions. Meanwhile, both India and West Indies have also enjoyed success in the tournament, each clinching the prestigious trophy more than once.

The eagerly awaited schedule for the ICC World Cup 2023 is still pending an official announcement from the International Cricket Council (ICC). In previous editions, the schedule was traditionally revealed well in advance. As a reference, for the 2019 World Cup held in England, the schedule was unveiled in April 2018. Cricket enthusiasts around the world are eagerly anticipating the ICC's forthcoming schedule announcement, which is anticipated to be made in the near future.

Although the official schedule for the ICC World Cup 2023 is yet to be released, a tentative schedule for Team India has been compiled based on reports. According to the tentative information available, the tournament is scheduled to take place approximately from October 5 to November 19. It's important to note that this schedule is subject to change until the official announcement is made by the International Cricket Council (ICC). 

Based on the most recent reports, India's journey in the World Cup 2023 is set to begin with a thrilling match against Australia. Additionally, the much-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan is scheduled to take place on October 15. 


October 8: vs Australia (Chennai)

October 11: vs Afghanistan (Delhi)

October 15: vs Pakistan (Ahmedabad)

October 19: vs Bangladesh (Pune)

October 22: vs New Zealand (Dharamsala)

October 29: vs England (Lucknow)

November 2: vs Qualifier (Mumbai)

November 5: vs South Africa (Kolkata)

November 11: vs Qualifier (Bengaluru)

Similar to the previous edition, the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 will consist of 10 teams. In order to participate, teams, excluding the host nation India, had to secure their positions through various qualifying routes. The primary qualification pathway for teams was the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League tournament. 

India, along with the top seven teams from the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, will secure automatic qualification for the ICC World Cup 2023. However, the remaining five teams, alongside five Associate sides, will have the opportunity to compete for the remaining two spots through a qualifier tournament hosted in Zimbabwe. 

Here is the list of teams participating in the ICC World Cup 2023

  • India
  • New Zealand
  • England
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Afghanistan
  • South Africa
  • TBD
  • TBD

Similar to the previous edition, the upcoming World Cup will follow a format that includes a round-robin stage followed by a knockout phase. In the round-robin stage, each participating team will have the opportunity to compete against every other team once. This format ensures that every team gets a fair chance to showcase their skills and compete against all opponents in the early stage of the tournament. 

In the upcoming World Cup, teams will be awarded two points for a victory, while a no-result will grant one point to each team involved. At the conclusion of the group stage, the top four teams based on points earned will advance to the semifinals. The winners of the semifinal matches will then proceed to the highly anticipated final showdown. 

Source: Click Here


To join us on Facebook Click Here and Subscribe to UdaipurTimes Broadcast channels on   GoogleNews |  Telegram |  Signal