Top 5 Captains with highest winning percentage in IPL

 Top 5 Captains with highest winning percentage in IPL

rohit sharma top 5 captains in ipl

In any cricket match, a captain is always one of the most crucial elements leading a team to victory, and IPL is no exception to this rule. Over the years, the Indian Premier League has witnessed some brilliant displays of captaincy skills from young and veteran players of the game. Be it their sheer tenacity to not give up or the clever strategies to move past the obstacles, the skippers have written the success stories for their teams. 

So, before the Indian Premier League 2021 begins, let’s take a look at the top five IPL captains with the highest winning percentage.

1. Rohit Sharma (60.17%)

With an excellent winning percentage of 60.17%, Rohit Sharma has the highest winning percentage in the IPL. He has led Mumbai Indians to their four IPL titles. In fact, Rohit Sharma won his first title right when he picked up the mantle for captaincy in 2013 from Ricky Ponting. His team has the highest winning percentage of IPL teams, so there is no denying his skills as a skipper. 

In the 113 matches he has led as their captain, there have been 66 wins and 43 losses. Going by the current scenario in Indian Premier League 2021, Mumbai Indians, under his captaincy, still have a shot at bringing the trophy home.

2. Steve Smith (58.97%)

Steve Smith had his first experience as an IPL team captain in 2013 when he was a part of Pune Warriors. Then, he went on to be a captain for Rajasthan Royals for the initial four games back in 2015 before Shane Watson picked up the mantle again.

He had another stint as a captain with Rising Pune Supergiants two years after this. This time, he almost led them to their first IPL title. This right-handed cricketer played a total of 40 matches as a skipper. Out of these, he won 23 matches and lost only 16, which got him the highest winning percentage in IPL.

3. Sachin Tendulkar (58.82%)

Sachin Tendulkar is surely one of the finest batsmen of all times but his turn as Indian captain was absolutely lackluster. However, Mumbai Indians still picked him to lead them back in 2008. In 2008 and 2009, Mumbai Indians finished at fifth and seventh positions on the points’ table, but Tendulkar was still retained as the captain. Back then, Mumbai had the lowest winning percentage of IPL teams. 

Finally, Kieron Pollard joined the team, and they reached the finals in 2010 for the first time. Tendulkar remained the captain of Mumbai Indians for one more year. He was a captain for 51 matches, out of which he won 30.

4. MS Dhoni (58.45%)

Dhoni has a brilliant record as the captain of an IPL team. Not only has he led Chennai Super Kings into winning three IPL titles, but he also led the franchise to playoffs in all the editions. Going by the current position, Indian Premier League 2021 will also see CSK in the finals. He is a valuable addition to his team as he is an excellent keeper, a brilliant batsman, and a clever strategist.

He has been their captain for 184 matches, and out of that, he has won 107 and lost 76. This gives him the highest winning percentage in IPL at 58.45%. Though Dhoni has also been the captain of Rising Pune Supergiants, he didn’t taste much success with them.

5. Shane Warne (55.45%)

Shane Warne was one of the finest captains in IPL as he led Rajasthan Royals to their maiden title in the first season of IPL in 2008. The brilliant innings by Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shane Watson had major roles to play in this victory. However, it was the leadership by Warne that got Rajasthan Royals the highest winning percentage of IPL teams.

The Australian spinner had been their captain in 55 games, where they won 31 and lost 24 matches. It gives him a commendable winning percentage of 55.45 percent.

Wrapping up

These five captains have set such lofty IPL records that they seem too difficult to beat. But who knows, maybe within a few seasons of IPL, some other name will join this list and now players are ready to play again, the IPL 2021 schedule is announced. In the meanwhile, stay tuned at Purewinnews to get all the latest updates from the world of sports.

To join us on Facebook Click Here and Subscribe to UdaipurTimes Broadcast channels on   GoogleNews |  Telegram |  Signal